Thread: I Stand for Law and Order and Fiscal Responsibility

Becoming a C2E Power Poster

Default I Stand for Law and Order and Fiscal Responsibility

I was educated at New York University where I earned a Bachelor of Science Degree and Masters Degree in Business Administration majoring in Marketing and Finance. Several years later I obtained a Law Degree from the University of British Columbia.

I have been a Chemical Analyst - Labor Relations Manager and contract negotiator, for both Multi National and Crown Corporations, Prosecutor and Defense Council.

In my view the city administration is a nightmare and needs a turn around just like any corporation that is failing. It seems that every time you turn around you are paying more money and I believe that is because the city has grown very quickly and has outpaced the skill set of the current council and administration. The people I talk to list PROPERTY TAX AND FEES as their main concern. The reality is that most people live from paycheck to paycheck, have little ability to put money aside for retirement and would be in a difficult position if they were to miss a paycheck.

Increases in taxes would probably mean they would lose their homes. Tax increases will also mean an increase in rent as landlords pass along the costs. Small business would leave because of the triple net leases they have and the passing along of costs.

In short, because the council has been unable to control spending we are sitting on a deficit of about 1.3 billion dollars + interest, with no way to pay that off without substantial increases in taxes. (See the auditor generals report http://www.oag.ab.ca/?V_DOC_ID=840)