Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Crosswalks

C2E Long Term Contributor

Default Crosswalks

Am I the only one who thinks that crosswalks in this city are ill-conceived and are placed in a haphazard fashion?

First of all, I am both a pedestrian and a driver, so I am tackling this from both sides of the coin. As a pedestrian, I've lost count of the number of times I've nearly been hit by a car in unlit X-walks. As a driver, I've lost count of the number of times I've nearly hit a pedestrian in an unlit X-walk because I'm unable to see why that big truck in the lane to my right is stopped.

Why is there no standard configuration? There are red-light X-walks, amber-light X-walks and unlit X-walks. I say stick to only one of these, so both drivers and pedestrians know what to expect. I'd choose the amber-light ones. Unlit ones are dangerous, while red-light ones seem to needlessly stop traffic in many cases.

Why are there unlit X-walks going across 6-lane roads? There's a couple on Gateway Blvd, and some others going across Kingsway.

Why are there unlit X-walks just a half-block away from fully traffic-lighted intersections? Best example is the one going across 109 St just a few steps north of Whyte.

Why is it that everytime some moronic jaywalker is hit by a car, the city's solution is to put in yet another unlit X-walk?

So, put in only amber-light X-walks and only put them where they make the most sense.

I'd rather C2E than work!

I agree. I don't like the red-light crosswalks as either a pedestrian or a driver. As a pedestrian, you push the button and wait. As a driver, the pedestrian crosses the road and is halfway down the block before the light turns green. The amber flashing lights are much faster. As a pedestrian, you push the button, wait a few seconds to make sure the approaching drivers are slowing down and cross the street. As a driver, you stop for the pedestrian then go once your lane is clear. Faster all around.