Thread: Garden Program

Default Garden Program

So i have been toying around with this idea for a few months, a school program for gardening. In this fast paced world we live in few people have the ability to teach their kids about the wonders of growing your own food. For me personally there is nothing more satisfying then eating food you grow from a tiny seed. This would have lots of benefits to the overall society in general.

Kids love to be outside even more so in the spring and summer and early fall. Which happens to be gardening season.

It is essentially a low cost program once you have a gardening area it costs nothing but water and some sweat to keep it going.

It teaches kids about healthy food options. To many kids are eating junk foods for snacks when they should be eating vegetables and fruits. If they grow the vegetable they are much more likely to want to eat the vegetable.

You can incorporate many other aspects of the kids education into the garden experience. Math, Science, Health just to name a few.

Also you can use it a discipline factor as you can make kids misbehaving have to weed.

There I'm sure are a lot more benefits but I thought this would be a good start. How do you guys feel about a gardening program for schools?
    When money speaks the truth is silent.

We have a vegetable patch in our backyard, and yes we live in the city. the kids love digging for fresh carrots,beets,peas,beans, potatoes and you cannot beat the taste. Why wait for the schools to have a program just start in your own backyard. We even have an apple tree. The kids start to realize where food actually comes from and its not from the grocery store.

I have a garden and your right you can not beat that taste. I agree and would encourage everyone to plant their own food. Even if you just have a balcony put some tomato plants out.