Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Driver Distraction law... is it working?

C2E Hard Core Contributor

Default Driver Distraction law... is it working?

Not sure if there is another thread on this although there's the "lousy driving" thread.

So it's been just over 3 months since the new law took effect and I'm wondering what everyone's experiences with it is. Myself I have noticed that I don't see as many driving with phones glued to their ears or texting however I still see some morons that figure they are above everybody else & the law.

The real problem lies in the thinking of the ***** - studies are indicating that "it's everyone else that can't drive while on the phone/texting but I'm a good driver while doing so'. Pretty selfish of the morons to actually think this doesn't affect their driving.

The other day I was coming home and watched a guy pass me, phone to his ear. Watched him wander into my lane in front of me and once he realized he needed to turn left made a very quick change of lanes to get into the left turning lane because he almost missed it. This tends to happen when the ***** is distracted. No signal light was used of course. I followed him because I had to go that way too and once he turned he continued to wander. I was almost ready to follow him into the condo's he later turned into and remind him that:

1. It's illegal
    2. That I watched him for 20 blocks, not signalling, wandering lanes and jeopardizing everybody's safety.

I chose not to say anything because the truth is it's a losing battle. I estimate 20% of drivers still have these horrible driving habits. That's a lot of drivers to remind that they're breaking the law.