Thread: Does solar power need batteries in Edmonton?

Default Does solar power need batteries in Edmonton?

I imagine batteries are a large part of the cost of a solar installation in a building in Edmonton. Would eliminating the batteries, or most of them, save a lot of the cost and make it more economic over the long term, though stretching out the pay back period?

Moreover, do batteries need replacement before the solar panels need replacement in that the initial capital cost of batteries has to be, say, doubled over the life of the assembly?

As an aside, I've also wondered if it wouldn't be cheaper to wire a solar system (with batteries) into say a house as a secondary, independent, supplemental or even parallel system from that connected to the grid and requiring one of those costly controller /switching units. (Sorry, I'm a layman so I have no idea what they are called).

C2E Hard Core Contributor

Very few solar installations in edmonton use batteries. Most will be grid tied as use the grid as a 'battery'. Batteries are expensive, toxic, dangerous, etc. I would much rather be tied in to the grid and use the grid/power meter as a savings bank.
    When you generate more than you need, your meter goes backwards, creating a credit. When you use more than you generate, it goes forward, creating a debit. Just like a bank account.

I'd rather C2E than work!

Perhaps your best payback is far thicker insulation. You might consider vacuum solar tubes for heat generation over solar cells for electricity.
    http://www.apricus.com/html/evacuate...m#.Ut1xshBlCHs

I read an article a while ago about a student project which used the electricity from solar cells to decompose water and they stored the resulting hydrogen gas. Later when needed they used a fuel cell to convert the hydrogen and air back into water to generate electricity. Of course hydrogen is flammable but even lead acid batteries generate hydrogen.
    http://iris.nyit.edu/solardecathlon2005/