Thread: Bicycle lanes/routes Should you use them?

Default Bicycle lanes/routes Should you use them?

Howdy.

Im relatively new to using my bike as a commuter vehicle. i used it all the time for mountain biking and general recreation. but never for commuting.

I have noticed a few things that are "weird" in this city.

we have quite a few marked bike lanes and routes. yet quite often bikes dont use this infrastructure. ill be on a bike route and there is people riding on the sidewalk. AND people riding in traffic. while im in the nice clearly marked service lane bike route.

You guys will probably know more about why this happens. but right now (in yes a very limited experience (only have done 100k or so of commuting by bike this year) i feel that of there is a bike lane. bikes MUST use it. for both bike commuters benefit, but also pedestrian benefit and motor vehicle benefit.

Personally i have always wondered why a commuter bike insists on riding on a major arterial road averaging 30-40km/h ( i do 30 [im new]) screwing up the rest of traffic when there is a bike lane right next door.

Now that im biking i still don't know?

Thanks!

I'd rather C2E than work!

Quote Originally Posted by Himser View Post
    Howdy.

Im relatively new to using my bike as a commuter vehicle. i used it all the time for mountain biking and general recreation. but never for commuting.

I have noticed a few things that are "weird" in this city.

we have quite a few marked bike lanes and routes. yet quite often bikes dont use this infrastructure. ill be on a bike route and there is people riding on the sidewalk. AND people riding in traffic. while im in the nice clearly marked service lane bike route.